Never underestimate the affect of other people on your life and mindset

Hey, I know all ya’ll know by now that I’m a grumpy, glass-half-empty-but-who-cares-because-it’s-full-of-piss-and-vinegar-anyway kinda gal, but every now and then I like to think I can see a ray of sunshine.

I recently found out that the prettiest, coolest girl I was too afraid to talk to in high school opened a store, and I thought “hey, I can own something she made! Neat!” So I ordered a piece and lo and behold she not only recognized me, but wanted to grab a coffee and hang out!

We talked for almost three hours. She’s still way too cool to be talking to me, but despite that we actually really clicked. Today was a good day.

After I got over the memory of who I thought she was, I was able to meet her with fresh eyes and an adult perspective of what it means to be a multi-faceted human being. Not only is she gorgeous, but she’s intelligent, tough and spiritual in ways I will probably never experience in my own psyche. While we may have different world-views developed through some very different life experiences, we were still able to find a lot more common-ground than I expected, and in a way I rarely find with people who think so vastly differently from the way I do.

And that is one hell of a challenge. I realize my introversion is a crutch which is part of why I reached out in the first place, just to see if I could do it. To talk to someone who once intimidated the hell out of me just by existing. And I did it, but now what? Now I have to deal with the fact that I conquered one of my biggest irrational fears, of being remembered as the gritty, awkward loser from my high school days in the eyes of someone I thought would judge me the most harshly.

In case you missed the challenge in that, it’s this: Once you let go of the fear and baggage you’ve been carrying around for years, what’s holding you back from here on out? What’s stopping you from talking to someone you think looks cool, or reaching out to that person you lost touch with ages ago? And if you conquered this battle, what’s keeping you from tackling the next?

 

Leave a Reply

