6 Things I Need Activists to Stop Doing Now

Natasha Thomas-Jackson

I have been an activist my whole life, even before I knew what the term meant. A socially conscious and emotionally sensitive child, I often cried when I watched the nightly news….disappointed in the world and fearful of my future in it. In my teens, I led unsuccessful campaigns in my household to get my family to recycle and become vegetarians. Something in me has always felt a responsibility not only for myself, but the world as a whole. I understood, on a very spiritual level, the connectedness of all life. My current work is the result of a natural evolution.

And although, I feel fairly comfortable in saying that I am fulfilling my purpose in life, it has not been without stumbles, falls, fuck-ups, and hard learned lessons. Activism, like any other path, is one that can quickly be undermined by the many frailties of being human. Ego, unconscious…

View original post 2,108 more words

Leave a Reply

